#walk1000miles – April 2017

It’s May already. Four whole months are now behind us. Time appears to be ticking more quickly as each year passes.

April has been a great month for me personally. I’ve attended a number of group walks, including two that I’ve led; I’ve done walks with friends, some challenging treks on my own and I know it has been a record-breaking month for me personally.

02/04 – 8.75 miles – Cadbury Hill from Home
05/04 – 3.5 miles – Wrington
08/04 – 10.5 miles – Chew Valley
(a post-birthday walk with friends)

09/04 – 7.5 miles – Goblin Combe
11/04 – 3 miles – Wrington
14/04 – 3 miles – Wrington
15/04 – 9 miles – Burrowbridge (walk leading)
16/04 – 3 miles – Wrington
17/04 – 19 miles – White Horse Trail #2
22/04 – 7.75 miles – Ebbor Gorge
23/04 – 20 miles – White Horse Trail #5 [not a typo]
26/04 – 3.5 miles – Wrington with Bluebells
29/04 – 11.5 miles – Sugar Loaf from Abergavenny (Brecon Beacons)

30/04 – 11 miles – Winchcombe and Cleeve Hill
(with Brunel 20s and 30s)

Add to this: 12 miles of short evening walks

Total for April 2017: 133 miles

I can tell you that I’m glad today is a Bank Holiday Monday as I am extremely tired! I haven’t had a weekend ‘off’ from walking for the past month. There have been great benefits to this but it has also meant less time for blogging and things like that.

Longer daylight hours and warmer(!) evenings have also been welcome and enabled me to achieve a record-breaking total for the month.

Total for 2017 so far: 344 miles

I do feel as though I would like to have been the other side of 350 by now but there’s a strong probability this will not be my only one-hundred-mile month between now and late September. When I realised I was going to break the century, I wanted to also push myself a little bit further beyond.

This time last year, I had also beaten the one-hundred mark but, I’m already eighty-miles ahead of the running total for the year… I ended 2016 only thirty-five miles short of one-thousand.

Hopefully, I’ll have another mountain to climb (literally) at the end of this month. It’s strange to think I might be walking The Ridgeway as early as the end of next month.

Thanks for reading.

I'd love to hear from you

