#walk1000miles – October 2017

Officially, I imagine we’re still in autumn. However, recent temperatures have suggested that winter isn’t very far away.

Then, there’s Daylight “Savings”… Where we actually lose an hour’s light in the evenings all because we live in a country that’s afraid of change (possibly). That alone will have an effect on my monthly miles.

01/10 – 11.25 miles – Lansdown
05/10 – 1 mile – Cotswold Outdoor, Bristol
06/10 – 3.25 miles – Wrington
10/10 – 3.25 miles – Wrington
14/10 – 16.5 miles – East Mendip Way (Crosscombe)
15/10 – 12 miles – Wotton-Under-Edge
-led by Brunel 20s and 30s
22/10 – 11.5 miles – Little Solsbury Hill
-Walking leading for Brunel 20s and 30s
28/10 – 9.25 miles – The Cat’s Back
-with Mark, Wye Explorer

Plus 2 miles of evening walks.

Total for October 2017 = 70 miles

In October, I was able to revisit a couple of walks that I hadn’t done for probably three years. Both of which feature in the Walk West series and are situated close to the city of Bath.

I attended only one group walk  but led another – my fourth of the year and first in several months – and, just last weekend, I attended a long-awaited YouTube ‘meetup’ over in the Welsh Black Mountains (also revisiting a walk from December last year).

This time last year, I’d ended the month of October with less than eight-hundred miles in the bag.

While I’m conscious of the fact that my opportunities for evening walks have effectively passed; I have been experimenting with one-mile long torch-led walks that follow the brief network of pavements around my village.

Every little helps, as they say!

Looking now, I’m pleased to see that my current tally is barely forty-miles short of my total for 2016… With a long weekend in sight, I’m quietly confident that I can beat this challenge before December!

Current total for 2017 = 922.25 miles

Thanks for reading.

8 thoughts on “#walk1000miles – October 2017

    1. Thanks, Ruth. I’m sure there must’ve been a good reason many yesrs ago. But today? I genuinely believe more people suffer, spending the day indoors but then coming home to darkness. People are already stressed, everyone’s in a rush. I like to think that a change to this system is inevitible.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you

